Octoprint wont send commands over usb

When I connect Octoprint, I believe it recognizes the printer as a serial interface but all the controls are greyed out. When I run dmesg I get:

[ 1068.322559] ch341 1-1.4:1.0: device disconnected
[ 1079.647973] usb 1-1.4: new full-speed USB device number 7 using xhci_hcd
[ 1079.784005] usb 1-1.4: New USB device found, idVendor=1a86, idProduct=7523, bcdDevice= 2.64
[ 1079.784021] usb 1-1.4: New USB device strings: Mfr=0, Product=2, SerialNumber=0
[ 1079.784030] usb 1-1.4: Product: USB Serial
[ 1079.786661] ch341 1-1.4:1.0: ch341-uart converter detected
[ 1079.792162] usb 1-1.4: ch341-uart converter now attached to ttyUSB0

I can't get any reaction from the printer.
(See below) It is an Ender 5 pro, with the 4.2.7 mainboard, running default Marlin firmware. I'm pretty new to this, if you need any more info, I'm happy to share, thanks!

octoprint-systeminfo-20230415075622.zip (905.8 KB)

There is no connection at all.

Have you checked the USB cable for a proper one that can transfer data?

There are some USB connection issues - it recognises a port but gets no response from it.

You also have a severe connection issue with the server - OctoPrint's UI is struggling to maintain a connection to the server on the websocket. Try safe mode, and also a different browser/device. That might be why the connection status/error is not showing up properly in the UI.

Thanks for your quick responses. The cable will transfer data, as I can send commands and monitor from cura. I have tried safe mode, but no luck. My computer has a good connection to the PI (ping response in 4ms) I just got the new control board, so I thought it might be a firmware issue, but I have confirmed it isn't.

Also, the UI will give the connection error when I unplug the cable and the Port will show AUTO again. If that's helpful.