Phone cannot connect to printer

Hello,

I hope someone can help me with this issue as I'm a proper beginner when it comes to OctoPrint set-up... I was reading in the forum here but couldn't find a solution yet.

I've installed OctoPrint (1.1.0) on my android phone (Samsung S9) trying to run it as OctoPi. I can access it from my laptop and instal Plugins etc., but it cannot connect the printer (Prusa MK3S+) to my phone.
I can see only Serial Port Options 'AUTO' and '/dev/ttyOcto4a' so I suspect there is no connection to the actual port from the printer

Taken steps:

1. I use the original cable that comes with the printer. It seems to work as I connected the cable directly to the laptop and the printer can be managed through the laptop via Pronterface
  2. Tried running OctoPrint in 'safe mode' and see two additional ports available '/dev/ttySAC0' and '/dev/ttySAC1'. I tried to connect to them but it doesn't work.

Here is the Systeminfo Bundle attached. As I mentioned I'm a beginner so not really sure how to read the info in it.
octoprint-systeminfo-20220709122112.zip (63.7 KB)

I also saw people recommended running dmesg with the connected and disconnected printer but not really sure how to do that. When I go to '>_Terminal' menu, I'm not allowed to type anything.

Additional info: I'm using USB-C hub to charge and connect the phone to the printer.

Thanks in advance for your support

In the Octo4a app (not OctoPrint) there should be an option to select the printer/USB connection there. /dev/ttyOcto4a would be correct in the OctoPrint UI.

Thanks @Charlie_Powell

Do you mean here (as per the screenshot)?

Unfortunately, I have no option to choose anything in Octo4a when the printer is ON and connected to the phone

That was the place I was meaning, yep.

It says no printer connected, which means Octo4a is unable to see the printer. If there are no options there to connect to then you will have no luck in OctoPrint.