Raspberry pi 4 + Gopro 6 with octoprint

So i'm quite new with octoprint, I have GoPro 6 just lying around and wonder if anyone has managed to connect it to raspberry pi 4 with octoprint and possibly octolapse. If so, is there any inuitive guides online?

Using a Gopro as a webcam is not possible without additional hardware that is much (MUCH) more expensive than a normal webcam. Even with this additional hardware, it is questionable if there are drivers to use these devices on the Raspberry Pi.

See eg these articles:

How about for just Octolapse, as that doesn't require to have webcam functionality, just the triggering of shutter at right moments?

Yeah it is definitely possible but with some restrictions... I did manage to trigger my gopro hero 7 black via a python scrtip while it was connected via wifi to the rasbperry pi... So the raspberry pi was connected to my local network via ethernet (of course... )

So you can change the octolapse scripts to call another python script (or copy the corresponding parts from the other script) to do the image stuff at the gopro...
It's far from ready, I did not have the time to integrate it myself but I had the same idea some time ago :wink:

Here are some useful links:

Gopro: https://github.com/KonradIT/gopro-py-api

Download of images to the raspberry pi:

1 Like

I watched those 2 last videos, but i got an error trying to install the python to raspberry 4.That's what I am trying to figure out, is it because i got an raspberry 4 or am i doing something wrong? I assume its my lack of knowledge

Have not looked in to "Using a DSLR with Octolapse" video, is the approach same/similar for GoPro?

Saw also different approach on this video bellow (from 24:00). To bad it's in German, so I didint understand a word.

"but i got an error "

Some details might come in handy :wink:

I got a raspberry 3b, but do not think that this is the problem...

1 Like