Trouble connecting to M3D Micro

What is the problem?
I can't connect Octoprint to my M3D Micro printer.

What did you already try to solve it?
Power cycling, reboots, different versions of Octoprint and also a old bugfix version I found of M33Fio

Additional information about your setup (OctoPrint version, OctoPi version, printer, firmware, octoprint.log, serial.log or output on terminal tab, ...)

Setup: Debian Linux in a Parallels VM, Octoprint 1.3.9rc4 (had to update from 1.3.8 because I wasn't able to install plugins), M33Fio 1.21 from plugins repo.

I am a beginner to Octoprint and I'm trying to connect to my M3D micro printer with the original firmware. Terminal output:

Changing monitoring state from "Offline" to "Detecting serial port"
Connecting to: /dev/ttyACM0
Changing monitoring state from "Detecting serial port" to "Opening serial port"
Connected to: Serial<id=0xb34224cc, open=True>(port='/dev/ttyACM0', baudrate=115200, bytesize=8, parity='N', stopbits=1, timeout=None, xonxoff=False, rtscts=False, dsrdtr=False), starting monitor
Starting baud rate detection...
Changing monitoring state from "Opening serial port" to "Detecting baudrate"
Trying baudrate: 115200Recv: wait
Connection closed, closing down monitor
Changing monitoring state from "Detecting baudrate" to "Offline"Send: N0 M110 N0*125

If I click "connect" for a second time, the printer makes a small sound and switches the LED off and on again, and I see the following in the terminal:

Changing monitoring state from "Offline" to "Detecting serial port"
Connecting to: /dev/ttyACM0
Changing monitoring state from "Detecting serial port" to "Opening serial port"
Connected to: Serial<id=0xb32352cc, open=True>(port='/dev/ttyACM0', baudrate=115200, bytesize=8, parity='N', stopbits=1, timeout=None, xonxoff=False, rtscts=False, dsrdtr=False), starting monitor
Starting baud rate detection...
Changing monitoring state from "Opening serial port" to "Detecting baudrate"
Trying baudrate: 115200
Recv: wait