Turn on light at start of print

Hi All,

Newbie here, making progress, and want more! This is a lot of fun!

I have an Ender 3 and a RPI 3 B+

Running Octoprint 1.4.2

Downloaded Enclosure plugin. Looking for a tutorial, or could you please tell me, on how to connect/configure a light that I can control with Octoprint.

I would like it to turn on at the beginning of a print, and stay on afterwards, until I turn it off. And then be able to turn it on remotely, randomly.

I've got a PhD in the "wrong" subject, so I'm not stupid, but in this subject area ... trainable:)

Thank you in advance for your help!

This is easy with WS281x LEDs, because you can use my plugin. Not sure how good the features are for the enclosure plugin to do that, what kind of LEDs do you have?

1 Like

I haven't purchased the LEDs yet.

Happy to use your plugin!

Can you post a parts list and procedure, please?

Thanks!

You'll need some WS2811/WS2812/SK6812 LEDs - also known as Neopixels. You can get them quite cheap direct from China if you want, or the Neopixel name is from Adafruit.

Other thing is an additional 5V power supply for more than a couple LEDs, since the Pi cannot provide much power for them.

Usually that's all you need, but sometimes extra bits like a level shifter are necessary. See the setup guide, or more specifically wiring your LEDs for the full details.

Then you can add the command @WS_LIGHTSON to your start gcode script, to turn them on at the start of the print, or configure the 'idle' effect to be off so that they are only on when there is a print in progress. There are buttons in the UI for control, as well as compatibility with the M150 Control plugin. There's a lot more you can do, from adding scripts to OctoLapse for timelapses, and enabling a torch mode, go and have a look around the wiki I linked above.

3 Likes

Awesome! Thanks! Be in touch .... (while I hope only to say success!).

1 Like