UI unresponsive and flickering

re posting as new thread

What is the problem?

Hello,
I am new to octoprint.
It works from time to time but UI is very unstable/flickering/frozen and connection to printer unstable.
I initially thought the printer connection was the issue and tried many many cables but now realised that even without printer connected there is a UI issue.
It is unresponsive and flickers, for example in safe mode the safe mode popup keeps on showing up/blinking. When I try to delete a file, the button is unresponsive and flickering lightly.

fyi connection to pi is perfect, ping, ssh and camera feed.

What did you already try to solve it?

I have tried different browsers.
I have looked at FAQ UI frozen guide.

Have you tried running in safe mode?

YES, still flickering, including safe mode popup

Did running in safe mode solve the problem?

NO

Complete Logs

octoprint.log, serial.log or output on terminal tab at a minimum, browser error console if UI issue ... no logs, no support! Not log excerpts, complete logs.)

Serial log, nothing as it happens even without a printer connected

octoprint log, this is repeated endlessly
2021-02-11 03:34:36,671 - octoprint.server.util.sockjs - INFO - Client connection closed: 240b:XXX:2901
2021-02-11 03:34:37,261 - octoprint.server.util.sockjs - INFO - New connection from client: 240b:XXX:2901
2021-02-11 03:34:37,282 - octoprint.server.util.flask - INFO - Passively logging in user ysiegel from 240b:XXX:2901
2021-02-11 03:34:37,282 - octoprint.access.users - INFO - Logged in user: my login

Browser
Even when I do nothing there are constant message flows in console (may be normal... no clue!)
In console I get the below repeating at high speed:

Safe mode is active. Third party plugins and language packs are disabled and cannot be enabled.
packed_core.js?8f90e417:840 :exclamation: Reason for safe mode: settings
packed_core.js?8f90e417:844 Triggering connect on all view models