Why no UPS support

Ok, first of all, please understand that I'm pretty new to 3D printing and what I might conceive as easy is actually really hard. I'm not trying to step on anyones toes. So, with that out of the way on to the question.

Why isn't there any ups support? I just lost a print that's been going for six days because of a power outage and that wasn't fun. Even a cheap UPS can drive a rasperry pi for hours, so this could be an affordable solution for everyone. (I think.)
So, my suggestion on how the plugin would work (the printer will not be plugged to the ups since it draws too much power).

1.) Octoprint will immediately pause the print (the printer will have shut down by now anyway)
2.) Once power has been restored the printer will start again and octopi will start waiting for it to connect
3.) Temperatures are restored and the print job resumed

I realize that someone would have added this feature if it was easy. But why is it so hard? What's keeping this feature/plugin from getting added?
Thanks for your replies and thanks to all devs for making this fantastic piece of software

1 Like

This is just a guess, but I think none of the people that regularly develop plugins have a UPS. There's also no real standard as far as I know between UPSes how they notify the host computer (so what works with one may not work with another). Finally in many cases it will not be as simple as just setting the temperatures back and resuming; when the bed cools down far enough, prints will start popping off the bed and there's no way to recover from that.

Good points!
I thought you could issue custom commands via apupsd (the ups server software). So basically have octoprint communicating/receiveing pause commands from the apupsd.
But you're absolutely right about prints popping off when the build plate cools.
I was kind of hoping that the power would be back on before the build plate had time to cool off.
Power outages are usually just a few minutes where I live.