WiFi Interface Only Accessible When LAN Connected

I'm brand new to the Raspberry Pi platform. I have a 3 B+ with the latest version of OctoPrint installed; I also ran the Update to verify that:
OctoPrint Version 1.3.8
OctoPi Version 0.15.0

I edited 'octopi-wpa-supplicant.txt' with my WiFi SSID, Password, and Country Code. Upon start up I get an IP address for the WiFi. I try to connect to that address from my Desktop and it fails.

If I plug in a LAN connection I am able to then access the OctoPi interface with both the LAN and the WiFi IPs... I am testing at work on a "corporate" Router/Access Points, if that matters. I haven't tried it on my home Router yet.

Please let me know if I need to upload any files.

Thanks,
fat

When I got my B+ I had a very similar problem with the wifi. I'd assumed that editing the wpa-supplicant was all I needed to do, because all the raspi-config did was edit the wpa-supplicant FOR you

Well, it didn't seem to work that way, I couldn't get the thing to work properly until I edited BOTH wpa-supplicant AND raspi-config

Give that a try and see what happens

1 Like

Thanks Spyder! I don't see a raspi-config on my SD Card with OctoPrint. Am I missing something?

After you ssh remotely into the pi, you should type this command...

sudo raspi-config

It will ask you for your password, which is the same one you use to log in

Then answer the questions in options 2 and 4, save, and reboot, and see what happens

1 Like

I had issues with the connection dropping with in feet of the access point and insufficient throughput when it was working (less than 2MBs ) went wired and all is good..

2 Likes

Hey Spyder. Still no go after editing sudo raspi-config; however, I'm very happy that you pointed out how to get into that. I had been in there the other day and forgot how to get back to it :slight_smile: