Wikipedia page for OctoPrint

I was just looking around at some of the resources for OctoPrint, and realized that there is no Wikipedia page for it. So I started one. It's just a draft right now, but I am hoping that some folks here can help add to it so that it can be published.

1 Like

oh boy :slight_smile: I'm an administrator. I'll have to recuse myself from adminning on it, but please don't publish it until you ask here, okay? Bonus points for watching/listening to a young Molly Lewis singing about not having a Wikipedia article.

@foosel please review the license for the image; IDK what you've licensed it as, but that's probably the biggest issue that will get annoying soon. Let me know if you need to do a 'release' or anything. Note a "noncommerical" stipulation means it can't be used on Wikipedia/Wikimedia.

Uff... honestly, that's a bit tricky. I'm not a lawyer, but I definitely don't consider the logo open source, simply to protect the brand. See also here on usage terms. I have no problem with putting it in a Wikipedia article (in fact, I'd be thrilled about that), but I also don't want to give away any rights for that to happen. There appears to be a solution for that though, but someone with more editing experience on Wikipedia will need to look into this.

I won't publish without checking in here, no problem.
I'm not sure what to do with the logo, although I think that use in Wikipedia would fall under section 1.2 of the Trademark rules.
Also, according to this page: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Octoprint-logo.png
@foosel could use the "declaration of consent" release generator (https://tools.wmflabs.org/relgen/) to give Wikipedia explicit consent. That would probably be the cleanest way of handling it.

Paul

PS Thanks, @foosel, for a great tool. I use it practically every day.

The problem with the "declaration of consent" thing is that it demands a license which allows commercial use: