Wyze Cam V2 Support?

The Wyze Cam V2 is a great inexpensive HD WiFi camera. I see no mention of it. Can it be added to Octprint supported?

3 Likes

has any one found a way to do this i feel it would be great

I would also like Wyze cam ingratiation.

Have you tried connecting it and using it? Presumably since it has wi-fi it will behave like other IP-based cameras. Presumably there is a link to view the streaming video.

The Wyzecam doesn't output video via the USB. How would one connect it to a Pi in order to stream video? I'm new to this whole thing. I have a Wyze setup to view my print bed and I use Octoprint. But have to switch between apps.

In theory, one would read the specifications to find out how one fetches the feed. It's often something like http://ipaddress/somepath/?user=whatever&password=whatever . Once you have that, you'd use that in the OctoPrint -> Settings -> Timelapse page to tell OctoPrint to use that.

I just ordered a Wyze V2 and hope to get this working with the RTSP (Real Time Streaming Protocol) firmware release. The Wyze cam hardware is essentially white label from a Chinese manufacturer that Wyze has developed their own firmware and ecosystem around.

A lot of ppl were flashing other firmware onto the Wyze cams to get RTSP and other features so I think it just made sense for them to add the feature. They've also been adding features like Google Home functionality so it made sense to add it.

If you search around you can find links to their page with the RTSP firmware for the V2 and Pan cameras. It has to be flashed onto the camera via USB card but there's a ton of tutorials online.

But as ppl in this post have suggested with RTSP enabled on the Wyze Cam you'll be able to access the stream from the camera via a URL pointing to the camera's IP on your network (from any other device on your network).