OctoPrint (winOS) wont connect to printer post Marlin 2.0x firmware update

What is the problem?

Hi guys and gals, I have a must frustrating issue here: I can't get Octoprint to connect to my printer. I hope the incoming wall of text doesn't dissuade any potential help

OK, to start off I have a Ender 3 Pro with a 4.2.2 board. I have been using it for a few months and its been running fine. I had it set up with a connection to my PC (windows 10) via a USB cable and using OctoPrint on my windows machine (set up via here). I decided to update my firmware to Marlin 2.0 and followed Teaching Tech's guide to do so. The firmware compiled and installed fine. However, I now cannot get a connection to the printer via Octoprint. I also rebuilt my computer and installed OctoPrint, so there could be an issue there? I cannot remember if I used Octoprint after the reinstall but before the firmware update.

I should note that the printer works fine if I am printing from SD card. But I would really, really like to connect via OctoPrint so that I can tweak my settings and troubleshoot.

Any new suggestions and help would be greatly appreciated. I just want to print already!

What did you already try to solve it?

• Switched out the USBmini cord

• Taped the 5v pin on the USBmini cord

• Double checked the baud rate in the firmware and Octoprint

• Tried connecting to the printer via Pronterface

• I checked for any sort of FOD or bent pins in the USBmini port. Nothing.

• Installed the TH3D unified firmware

• Re-installed the original Creality firmware

• PC rebooted

• Checked my PC connection via the Device Manager. The PC does see something connected, but I'm not sure if its connecting correctly. The printer is listed under "Other Devices" as "USB Serial" (see this image). I am very much out of my depth here, but I am guessing that the printer should be connecting via "Communications Port (COMM1)"? If so, I have no idea how to change it. Any suggestions?