Setup a New Self-Signed SSL Certificate on OctoPrint (“Enable HTTPS”)

Overview

In this tutorial, I will show you how to:

• Create a new self-signed SSL certificate on your OctoPrint instance
  • Teach you how to forward any HTTP request to HTTPS (“forcing all connections to use HTTPS”)
  • How to have your PC/Mac/iOS device trust the certificate

Though this isn’t the right term, “Enabling HTTPS” can be a way of describing what we are doing here. OctoPrint comes with HTTPS enabled already and a default SSL certificate. We are just making updates to what already exists.

Apologies in advance, I'm a new user here and can't post screen shots in this post :slight_smile:

Disclaimer

I am NOT a security expert or security professional. This tutorial is not intended to setup a secure way to access your OctoPrint instance outside of your network. This is intended to only be used to secure in-network traffic to your OctoPrint instance. If you procced with this tutorial, you understand the risks and take full responsibility for any security risks/incidents that might occur.

Pre-Requisites

Before we get started this is what you will need

• An instance of OctoPrint with SSH enabled or a way to access the command line

• In my example I will be using OctoPi. I’m using a “dummy” OctoPi, so all usernames/passwords will be the default. I suggest setting up more secure passwords for better security
  • Luckily the tools we need, OpenSSL & HAProxy, come with OctoPi by default. This is how to check to make sure they are installed (run the following in the terminal). If these are not installed, a quick Google will show you how-to install them

openssl version
haproxy -v
  • Please make sure your OctoPi is updated. This is a simple command I run to ensure it’s up to date
sudo apt update && sudo apt dist-upgrade && sudo apt-get autoremove && sudo apt clean && sudo reboot now
  • Assign your OctoPi a static IP and note what that IP is (we need it later)