Cant Run Desktop Environment on Pi4 running test build

Hello! I am a total newbie to Octoprint.

Raspberry Pi 4 up and running using the Nightly build img.

Functionality is working perfectly, great prints, I cant get the desktop environment to load. Is this due to that functionality not being present for the current build?

Thanks and sorry if I'm ignorant to this.

Yeah the desktop is not included because the image is based on raspbian lite.
This should help you :wink:

Thanks so much for trying to help me.
So when you say "open" network, you mean an unsecured network? ie no password?

That part was part of the answer to the other thread.
Your pi just needs internet access. It doesn't matter how :slight_smile:

My Pi has internet access. I have a secured network but it the credentials are correctly configured and before I flashed octoprint, I could easily access google or the web chromium through raspian. When I run the script to install the desktop environment, a good portion runs ok, but there are some files that show unreachable.

Am I misunderstanding something? I apologize for any ignorance.

It would help to see which errors you're getting.
Could you copy the console output and post it here?

I can certainly try. Ill be home this evening and Ill try that.

So I flashed the nightly build for the Pi 4.
then it prompts with the script to install the desktop environment.
I run the script, some of it processes, and some doesnt, then it says its finished and asks if id like it setup so that it boots to desktop environment to which I answer yes. But it never does. Ive tried selecting it in config as well.

it also will not run sudo apt-get update

If you have a PiHole (or similar) configured, this can get in the way of some of the pip install ... sort of things trying to go on.

Im so new i have no idea what a PiHole is lol.

What happens if you just run apt-update?

It gives me an error saying that it cant

It fails to complete