Failed to autodetect serial port, please set it manually (when I add tape to USB connection)

What is the problem?
So I'm new to my Ender 3 and octoprint. But my Ender 3 turns on and off mid print and it just continues printing but it doesn't print the way its suppose to. Someone on Reddit assumed it was the 5v port that is messing with the power so they suggested that I put tape on the 5v pin on the USB. I did that but it gave me: "Error: Failed to autodetect serial port, please set it manually."
What did you already try to solve it?
I tried multiple USB ports in the RSP, removing the tape (it does work but then it still stops mid print randomly).
I tried to set the Serial port manually but it only has the "AUTO" option
Additional information about your setup
I have an Ender 3 that has a relay to turn on and off from octoprint.
OctoPrint 1.3.11 running on OctoPi 0.16.0
Raspberry Pi 3B+
5.25V power supply

If adding tape to the USB connector causes serial connection errors, then don't do this.

As for the part where the Ender 3 is "turning on and off mid-print" then you'll need to describe this better. If my printer (itself) turned off during a print, I would suspect the power connection for the printer, not OctoPrint or my Raspi. I always plug my 3D printer and the Raspberry into something that looks like this:

• UPS (makes sure that good 115VAC power is supplied to everything)
    • TP-Link SmartPlug (allows me to toggle the power ON/OFF remotely)
      • Ikea 3-connector power strip (connects multiple connections to a single TP-Link)
        • Power brick for the printer
        • Power adapter for the Raspberry (5V @ 2.5A)

Until you provide solid power to the printer, I wouldn't waste time with other troubleshooting paths.