Local printer display / UI while using OctoPrint

First off - I am new to Raspberry and OctoPrint... but within 2-3h all is working fine, including OctoDash on a touch screen connected to the Pi !

While processing a print job from OctoPrint, my local Ender 3 V2 display (user interface) remains unchanged. It does not show that a print is running, not does it get 'locked' or anything.

Is there not a danger of interfering with an ongoing print ?
Is this just the way it is when piggy backing via USB onto the printer controller ?

I am mainly curious if I missed something. I would be nice if the printer actually showed print mode, progress bar, or at least a 'remote controlled' local warning.

As mentioned above, I have OctoDash anyway beside the printer, still in case I missed or messed-up something it would nice to know for sure.

Thx !

Raspberry Pi 4B, latest OctoPrint install, OctoDash. Running an Ender 3 V2 with presumably latest firmware... but would have to be verified.

1 Like

Hello, and welcome in the fantastic world of Octoprinting :smiley:

Rookie here. I had the same surprise than you, but shortly discovered that what is usually printed on your screen when you print via SD Card is done by the mainboard (the subprogram that reads the .gcode file). Octoprint just send GCODES but prints nothing on the LCD.

Until ... until you ask Octoprint to do so. Also called « Plugins, plugins everywhere ! » :slight_smile:
I'm using that one one the Ender 3 : Detailed Progress
I found that the GCODE M73 doesn't work on my Ender 3 Pro (with mainboard 4.2.2). But the rest goes well.

There are a lot of other plugins : Search
("display" and "progress" are probably the best keywords for your search)

Cheers !
K.

1 Like

Cool !

Will do and try so :).

As I said the rest works prefect, including 5" touch screen on OcotoPi with OctoDash.
So in many ways its overkill, but i think way more professional if the local printer display
would play along.

1 Like