TP-Link Smartplug plugin, Printer not turning on fast enough causing MINTEMP error

Hello everyone,

I recently setup the TP-Link Smartplug plugin from jneilliii and set it up to run GCODE commands for On and Off. I have the Ender 3 v2, and setup Octopi to run M80 GCODE script before the print job starts.

When I load and print a file, it seems the M80 code is sent immediately but the printer receives the print job BEFORE the plug can turn on the power supply fast enough and causes the printer to spit a MINTEMP error.

Is there a way to within the plugin or Octopi to delay sending the host action command for a print job to the printer so the smart plug has time to turn on and the power supply?

The only work around I have currently is on upload of a file, turn on the smart plug. But I don't want to have to manually start the print from octopi all the time, I like to upload from Cura and just start printing.

Any suggestions? I am a bit new to octoprint and 3d printing so if you need me to describe in more detail let me know!

The OctoPrint Connection plugin in Cura will detect my plugin installed and handle the powering on of the plug automatically for you. You just have to adjust the settings in the Cura plugin to use that function. This is how I use the TPLink plugin, send file from Cura...Cura plugin powers on printer, waits for it to be ready and then starts the print. I then use idle timer for powering off.

Awesome! Thanks jneilliii! Great plugin btw :slight_smile:

Update... so I tried doing the printer turns on from cura... but my Ender 3 v2 still wants to scream bloody murder about recieving the print job when the printer isn't fully powered up... Any way around this? Could i delay the print job being sent to the printer for a few seconds so the thing can turn on..?